what a YEAR 2014.


THIS DAY LAST YEAR…

this very day…

This time last year, was brain surgery minus 8 days!
7 operations, meningitis, anc a full brain decompression and shunt fitting later, i learned to crochet.
that inpatient phases took up until MARCH.
at the end of march mammy got ill
Mammy woke up and allowed herself to go to God. she died on April 5th. For such a tiny and gentle woman mammy had a profound effect…and left a huge gap which we will never even begin to fill … – and time sorta stood still for the months mind which was on May 4th. mammy is always very much alive in my heart- my thought and my dreams.

only then did i even seem to venture out…get my hair coloured…get my bails done… see visitors..become human…and I can say now, i was feeling very isolated and cut off from reality in any many senses.
July was my very first time to need a wheelchair, and by September i had been fitted for my Madge.
It was in October i began to feel  slightly me, was the first time i felt emotionally or physically able to start work on a Choral group.
having had that good a year, i decided that as i was 50 in November to try to appreciate the people i like and we had my #lifestooshort party which meant so much to me. It was the right thing to do.

You helped me.
and now here we are…December…

i lost another very special friend, who did so much to support me and help me through a terribly tough time.

I remember him also with love.

i STILL manage maybe one day a week, when i go into town, or go to a quiz, or go to Sky’s assembly. In the harder weather i don’t even get to mammy’s grave as often. But mammy is in my heart.
i want to say thankyou to YOU…
for the parts that you have played in my life this year.
Some of you, i haven’t managed to see at all… but i know my movement is limited. But I think of you and of the crosses you all carry too.
I don’t assume life or take people for granted.
I hope i have let you know that during the year.
please remember #lifeistooshort – don’t leave things you need to do until it is too late for them to make a difference.
specially thanks to Jimmy Hamill Sheelin Halligan mammy and daddy Eamon McCaffrey, and my children for not getting annoyed with me, and for taking on all the things that i can’t do and for helping me get to the END of this YEAR.
soppy post done!

Peter1

10 comments

  1. Wow this touched my heart. You are indeed a very strong and brave woman. I know how it feels to lose somebody you love too, but you over came this and your physical problems too. Life is good, and you have a very positive approach to yours. One day at a time and one step at a time is the way to go.

    We all have our crosses yes, but some more than others. A very merry christmas to you sweet lady You deserve it after the year you have been through. Your problems should make others feel ashamed of what they do or dont do to make others happy. Wonderful blog and not soppy at all. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Reblogged this on Marilyn Munrow and commented:
    Wow this touched my heart. You are indeed a very strong and brave woman. I know how it feels to lose somebody you love too, but you over came this and your physical problems too. Life is good, and you have a very positive approach to yours. One day at a time and one step at a time is the way to go.
    We all have our crosses yes, but some more than others. A very merry christmas to you sweet lady You deserve it after the year you have been through. Your problems should make others feel ashamed of what they do or dont do to make others happy. Wonderful blog and not soppy at all. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

