Lazy? No, just disabled… life with an invisible impairment


love it… another invisible disability

Scope's Blog

Guest post by Carol, an administration manager from Leeds. Carol has Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, an invisible impairment, and has shared her experiences as part of our 100 Days, 100 Stories campaign. Last year, she worked with us on a film raising awareness of the extra costs disabled people face.Head and shoulder shot of Carol dressed in black

I was once in a lift with a very, very senior manager at a company I used to work for. I was going up one floor, but I needed to take the lift because I struggle to manage the stairs.

I pushed the button, and he looked at me and said: “Only going one floor, are we? Aren’t we lazy?” I smiled and said: “No, just disabled.”

To be fair to him he was mortified, and it made me laugh more than anything else. And he was always extremely considerate of my needs after that. But it struck me that that’s exactly…

View original post 545 more words

Leave a Reply

